Commonwealth Association of Polytechnics in Africa (CAPA)

The Commonwealth Association of Polytechnics in Africa (CAPA) is a Pan-African organization that was established following a resolution of the 7th Commonwealth Conference of Education Ministers that was held in Accra, Ghana in March 1977, with a mandate to support professional and skills development and to promote policy advocacy in favour of technical and vocational education and training (TVET). Since the inception of CAPA, the Government of the Republic of Kenya has been hosting the Secretariat of the association at the Kenya Polytechnic, now The Technical University of Kenya located in Nairobi.

CAPA has a membership of over 170 post-secondary educational institutions across 18 African countries spread across the association’s three regions; viz: Eastern region, comprising Uganda, Kenya, Mauritius, Seychelles and Tanzania; the Southern /Central region, made up of Botswana, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Swaziland, Zambia, Zimbabwe and Republic of South Africa; and Western region that consists of Ghana, Nigeria, Sierra Leone and The Gambia. The membership of CAPA demonstrates a well-integrated profile of technical universities, polytechnics and technical colleges that are oriented towards knowledge and skills acquisition for the world of work.

Over the years, CAPA has impacted positively on the growth and development of TVET institutions in the member countries. Some highlights of its achievements include pioneering the introduction of entrepreneurship education in the curricula of the institutions; a strong advocacy for improving access to women in technical education, through the establishment of Women in Technical Education and Development (WITED) programmes in many TVET institutions; as well as Management and Leadership training courses for managers of TVET institutions.

Click here to see WFCP Board member, Dr. Richard Masika’s presentation on CAPA: CAPA_Info_27may2015_FINAL.

Click here to visit the CAPA website.